To: Judiciary A

By: Representative Morris

HOUSE BILL NO. 125

1	AN	ACT	ТО	AMEND	SECTION	9-19-1	,	MISSISSIPPI	CODE	OF	1972,	TO
_												

- 2 REVISE THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL PERFORMANCE; 3 TO BRING FORWARD SECTION 9-19-3, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, FOR
- 4 PURPOSES OF AMENDMENT; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI:
- 6 SECTION 1. Section 9-19-1, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 7 amended as follows:
- 8 9-19-1. The Commission on Judicial Performance shall consist
- 9 of the following members:
- 10 (a) One (1) circuit court judge to be appointed by the
- 11 Conference of Circuit Court Judges;
- 12 (b) One (1) chancellor to be appointed by the
- 13 Conference of Chancery Court Judges;
- 14 (c) One (1) county court judge to be appointed by the
- 15 Conference of County Court Judges;
- 16 (d) One (1) justice court judge to be appointed by the
- 17 Mississippi Justice Court Officers Association;
- 18 (e) One (1) municipal court judge to be appointed by
- 19 <u>the Mississippi Municipal Judges Association;</u>
- 20 $\underline{\text{(f)}}$ One (1) practicing attorney to be appointed by the
- 21 Governing Board of the Mississippi State Bar Association; and
- 22 <u>(g)</u> Two (2) lay persons who shall not be residents of
- 23 the same Supreme Court district to be appointed by the Chief
- 24 Justice of the Supreme Court of Mississippi. One of such lay
- 25 persons shall be appointed from a list submitted by the
- 26 Mississippi Trial Lawyers Association and one (1) of such lay
- 27 persons shall be appointed from a list submitted by the

- 28 Mississippi Prosecutors Association. Each of such lists shall
- 29 contain the names of three (3) or more qualified persons.
- 30 An alternate for each member shall be selected at the time
- 31 and in the manner prescribed for initial appointments in each
- 32 representative class to replace those members who might be
- 33 disqualified or absent.
- 34 SECTION 2. Section 9-19-3, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 35 brought forward as follows:
- 36 9-19-3. The terms of office of the commission members shall
- 37 be for six (6) years, except that the initial terms of office
- 38 shall be as follows: the circuit court judge member for six (6)
- 39 years, the chancellor member for five (5) years, the county court
- 40 judge member for five (5) years, the justice court judge member
- 41 for four (4) years, one (1) of the lay members for three (3)
- 42 years, the other lay member for two (2) years, and the attorney
- 43 member for one (1) year. Members shall not be allowed to succeed
- 44 themselves after serving a full term. Commission membership
- 45 terminates if a member ceases to hold the position that qualified
- 46 the member for appointment. A vacancy shall be filled by the
- 47 appointing power for the remainder of the term.
- No member of the commission, except a justice or judge, shall
- 49 be eligible for state judicial office so long as he is a member of
- 50 the commission and for a period of two (2) years thereafter. No
- 51 member of the commission shall hold office in a political party or
- 52 participate in any campaign for judicial office and hold public
- 53 office; provided that a judge may participate in his own campaign
- 54 for judicial office and hold that office. The commission shall
- 55 elect one (1) of its members as its chairman.
- SECTION 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from
- 57 and after July 1, 1999.